Club History

The Corning Country Club was established in 1919 and designed by Thomas Winton, a Scottish born greenskeeper who later pursued golf course design.  The land that was acquired for the golf course included a farm house.  This structure was modified and became our very first clubhouse which was located behind today's number nine tee box. 

While in the midst of renovation in 1951 the Clubhouse was destroyed in a fire. Firefighters from Corning, Gibson, and Big Flats responded to the 1:15 AM alarm but by 3:00 AM the clubhouse was leveled with only the two chimneys remaining.

A second clubhouse was built on a different site and was opened to rave reviews in July of 1952.  The then modern facility was much larger and offered more room to meet the members’ needs.

In 1999 the second clubhouse was demolished to make way for the clubhouse that is here today. Our new facility can accommodate functions up to 180 people and is being enjoyed by all.


LPGA Corning Classic

The LPGA Corning Classic was an annual golf tournament for professional female golfers on the LPGA Tour.  It took place every year from 1979 through 2009 at the Corning Country Club in Corning, New York.


It was one of the longest running tournaments on the LPGA Tour and the longest with a single sponsor. The title sponsor since the beginning was Corning Incorporated, an American manufacturer of glass, ceramics and related materials, primarily for industrial and scientific applications.


Production and operation of the tournament was a large community effort by the citizens of Corning. As with most tournaments on the LPGA Tour, proceeds went to charity. Beneficiaries of the Corning Classic were local hospitals and camps for disabled children. Net charitable proceeds since 1979 exceeded $5 million.


While this famous LPGA tournament is no longer held, proceeds for the LPGA Corning Classic exceeded 3.8 million dollars since it's debut at the Corning Country Club in 1979.





Corning LPGA Champions

2009 Yani Tseng
2008 Leta Lindley
2007 Young Kim
2006 Hee-Won Han
2005 Jimin Kang
2004 Annika Sorenstam
2003 Juli Inkster
2002 Laura Diaz
2001 Carin Koch
2000 Betsy King
1999 Kelli Kuehne
1998 Tammie Green
1997 Rosie Jones
1996 Rosie Jones
1995 Alison Nicholas
1994 Beth Daniel
1993 Kelly Robbins
1992 Colleen Walker
1991 Betsy King
1990 Pat Bradley
1989 Ayako Okamoto
1988 Sherri Turner
1987 Cindy Rarick
1986 Laurie Rinker
1985 Patti Rizzo
1984 JoAnne Carner
1983 Patty Sheehan
1982 Sandra Spuzich
1981 Kathy Hite
1980 Donna Caponi
1979 Penny Pulz